Enlarge 1 / 1

On display on Level 1

Qing dynasty (1644-1911) China
The eighteen Buddhist sages [luohan] [The Eighteen Arhat] late 19th century Place made: China
Creation Notes: Qing dynasty (1644-1911)
Materials & Technique: sculptures, bone, wood; carving ivory, wood; carving
Dimensions: average 15.5 h x 8.0 w x 5.5 d cm
Acknowledgement: Gift of Mr Louis Berthet and Mrs Suzette Bartolozzi, 2001
Accession No: NGA 2001.213.1-18
Subject: Buddhist
  • bought by Ivar Berthet in China, c.1900
  • exported from China to Australia by Ivar Berthet, c.1945
  • by descent to his children Louis Berthet and Suzette Bartolozzi, who gave it to the National Gallery of Australia, Canberra, 2001